Maundy Thursday, April 13

“But now, Lord, you are our father. We are the clay, and you are our potter.
All of us are the work of your hand.”

Isaiah 64:8 (CEB)
(Note: This scripture selection is not from Daily Prayer)

lent-2
Like many Christians my journey with God has not always been easy. I have had my fair share of bumps and bruises along the way. In the beginning I would view these as setbacks but I quickly discovered that each bump in the road wasn’t a setback but an opportunity for me to rely on God and reflect on our relationship.

A number of years ago I decided to mark an item off my bucket list and I took a wheel pottery class at a local museum. I figured it would be fun and relaxing. It was fun but somewhat stressful. First you have to throw the clay correctly to get it to be balanced on the wheel then you have to maintain the proper speed and pressure to get the clay to mold the way you want it to. At first I got frustrated because my creations wouldn’t turn out the way I had envisioned in my mind and I had to crush them and start over. But somewhere in the process I began to have a spiritual sense about the project. As I was working on these pieces of clay sometimes it took a number of tries to get each piece the way I envisioned in my head. There was a lot of frustration. And just because I got it “right” on the wheel didn’t mean the structure of the piece would withstand firing. The piece could still end up with a crack. But what I realized in this process is that no piece of clay was destroyed for good. If the piece on the wheel needed to be redone you just added some water and re-threw it and started over. If a piece came off the wheel correctly but cracked in firing many times the crack could be fixed and it would be structurally stronger in that spot.

This is how are spiritual journey is with God. God never gives up on us regardless of what path we choose to go down, what decisions we make, what we say or what we do.  God is the Potter. God will “re-throw” us and mold us again. God will fix our “cracks” and make us stronger. We can grow from the process of being rebuilt. We are blessed to have an amazing God who forgives us, rebuilds us, and most importantly loves us regardless of what we do. We are not powerful enough to push away God. God loves us too much for that to ever happen. God loved us so much that God sent Jesus to save us from our sins. Jesus was crucified for us so that we would not have to suffer that same fate. So as I go through life’s journey with God I will try to remember that any stumbling block, any mistake, any mishap, any “failure” on my part is not a disaster it is an opportunity to renew and restore my relationship with God. And I know that the trials of life are not fun or fair but I will strive to remember that God is in my life always and will always be there to remold me.

Great Potter,

In the midst of the struggles of life when we feel we have done all we can help us remember that we are not alone. Help us remember your great love when we feel unlovable. Guide us in the ways you want us to go. Remold us like the clay we are.
In your name we pray. Amen.

Megan Collins


After seminary Megan hopes to be ordained as a Deacon in the United Methodist Church and work in a church setting as a Pastor of Communication, but she remains open to whatever God may have in store for her in the future.

Leave a Reply

